Don’t You Quit ~ A smooth sea never made a skillful mariner.

Don’t You Quit

When things go wrong, as they sometimes will,
When the road you’re trudging seems all uphill,
When funds are low and the debts are high,
And you want to smile but you have to sigh,
When care is pressing you down a bit,
Rest if you must, but don’t you quit.

Life is queer with its twists and turns,
As every one of us sometimes learns,
And many a failure turns about,
When he might have won if he’d stuck it out.
Don’t give up, though the pace seems slow –
You may succeed with another blow.

Often the goal is nearer than
It seems to a faint and faltering man;
Often the struggler has given up
When he might have captured the victor’s cup,
And he learned too late, when the night slipped down,
How close he was to the golden crown.

Success is failure turned inside out –
The silver tint of the clouds of doubt,
And you never can tell how close you are –
It may be near when it seems afar;
So stick to the fight when you’re hardest hit –
It’s when things seem worst that you mustn’t quit.

By Julia Seijkens
from Amsterdam, NL

Live for those that love yon,
For those whose hearts are true.
For the Heaven that smiles above you,

And the good that you may do.

***

A smooth sea never made a skillful mariner.

***

Remember me when far away,
If only half awake,
Remember me on your wedding day,
And send me a piece of cake.

***

May your Joys be as deep as the ocean,
And your sorrows as light as its foam.

 

Album Selections p92

http://books.google.com/books?id=9QwWAAAAYAAJ&pg=PA93&dq=%22those+whose+hearts+are+true%22+%22for+the+heaven+that+smiles%22&hl=en&sa=X&ei=BIlYU8GrGcmWyATbwIGoAw&ved=0CD0Q6wEwAw#v=onepage&q=%22those%20whose%20hearts%20are%20true%22%20%22for%20the%20heaven%20that%20smiles%22&f=false

Selections for the Album. P 39

http://books.google.com/books?id=S3tE3vV8aQUC&pg=PA141&dq=%22those+whose+hearts+are+true%22+%22for+the+heaven+that+smiles%22&hl=en&sa=X&ei=zYlYU6q0F8OcyATLqYDICg&ved=0CCsQ6AEwAA#v=onepage&q=%22those%20whose%20hearts%20are%20true%22%20%22for%20the%20heaven%20that%20smiles%22&f=false

MY POEM
By ERNEST POWELL

If there is naught in anything I write,
Of truth or joy, or hope beyond the grave,
Then let it sink, all sink, beneath time’s wave,
And from men’s eyes be buried out of sight;
But if like knights of old in armor bright.
My thoughts go forth to comfort and to save.
To shield the weak from harm, to cheer the brave,
Then let them live and gather strength and might.
The fate of what I sing I know is just,
Whate’er it be, whate’er that fate may be;
And so I am content, for life is sweet.
And so I sing because I must—I must;
When beauty takes my hand and walks with me.
My heart must either sing or cease to beat.

KNOWLEDGE
By Gilbert Cannan

MY days go slowly now, and the absurd
Intoxication of my sappy growth
Has fallen away. Things seen and heard
I can now hold and shape with the keen word.
Leisure is mine, and I can put on sloth
Like a down cover to keep thought warm
To hatch out humour, and give form
To what most inwardly I know.
So like a spinning world I go
So fast that I seem slow,
Like the round world, and that same world I shove
Onward by knowing that I live and love.

LOVE AT RANGER.
By Will Ferrell

The tool dresser picked up his pencil and pad. 
His writing was fierce, his rhetoric bad, 
But the object, gee whiz, it was wholly — not part 
Of the theme in his soul and the throb of his heart.
A lady ? Sure thing — in a far distant clime.
With a form like a queen and a manner sublime.
Or, at least that’s the way he expressed it to me
As we sat by the fire in our little teepee
Down at Ranger.

Her eyes were like star-dust, brilliant and blue. 
Or mebby crushed vi’lets, slathered with dew. 
Her hair was pure copper, shredded and spun, 
With a little gold added — direct from the sun. 
Her throat as the swan’s and a voice as the wren, 
The only song-bird he could think of, just then. 
Or, at least that’s the way he expressed it to me 
As we sat by the fire in our little teepee 
Down at Ranger. 

At last came her photo — a generous card — 
And I wondered if Burleson charged by the yard. 
And her face, Hully Gee, what a rabble was there. 
And a neck like Jess Willard’s, with muscle to spare.
“She is what you’d call plump,” was his ready defense,
“But barring the ‘beef,’ she is simply immense,”
Or, at least that’s the way he expressed it to me
As we sat by the fire in our little teepee
Down at Ranger. 

Now this is the query I put to myself 
As I studied that ‘lithograph’ there on the shelf. 
**What is it he sees in that Hindenburg face 
That would indicate beauty or maidenly grace?” 
Then I thought of his ardor — his spasms of joy. 
“He’s in love,” came the answer. “He’s only a boy.” 
“You was once one yourself,” whispered Logic to me. 
And I smiled as I dreamed in that little teepee
Down at Ranger. 

Poems and other verses” (1896) by H.A.R.J.
It is all written with brains. Contains much admirable verse.

SONNET.
By H.A.R.J.

YOUTH, in life’s poppy-gardens walks in dreams,
Bright airy fancies of abstracted bliss,
Visions of joy it would not wake to miss ;
While vacancy with speculation teems.
Before the curtained future stands “It seems,”
Forecasting possibilities behind ;
Uprearing spectre-castles, which the wind
Serves as foundation, till the gilded beams
Fall with a silent crash, swept by the fold
Of the uplifting curtain ; now displayed
Range life’s realities, pale, stark, and cold ;
And youth, awakening, starts aghast, dismayed.
Yet, face to face with Truth, how hard it seems
To look on such fair wrecks and call them dreams !

 

32 comments

  1. It’s not just a poet, you know, though. I think it’s all creative writer’s out there who feel this pain and freedom and pure awesomeness!

    1. Thank you for stopping by! I truly appreciate your comment!

      1. Hey! 🙂 Look at this poem, please:

      2. That’s an awesome poem :O
        It’s light-hearted, yet the details are so deep and the way it sounds like a child is describing it is perfect for the reader to see from a child’s point of view! I really like it 🙂
        Did you do it?

      3. Thx! No. I wish! The author is E. V. Wright, who also wrote a novel Without Using the Letter “E.” Here it is: http://www.holybooks.com/wp-content/uploads/Gadsby-by-Ernest-Vincent-Wright.pdf And here is a poetry book by Wright: https://archive.org/stream/thoughtsreveries00wrig#page/n3/mode/2up

      4. Wow. A whole book without the letter ‘E’? That’s impressive.

      5. Hi, you seem really interested in poems, so do you think you could check out my blog and tell me what you think about the poem on there? I would really appreciate it.

      6. No problem. Which poem? I’ve seen your blog but I find no poem. Can you show me? Thx.

      7. It’s called Autumn Day, it should be in the poem category 🙂

      8. A very original and well-written poem in perfect English. Admirable. I wish I could write something like this. My stuff is mediocre. Autumn Day is superb.

      9. Thank you so much 😀 You really made my day, since I don’t really have friends and the people that I do show my work to just nod and say: ‘It’s good’, so you’re critique is awesome, thank you.

      10. You’re welcome. If you see my “poems” you will vomit. But I can show ’em to you. 😛
        They just nod and say: ‘It’s good’,? What can we expect of people who don’t care about poetry?.

        Autumn Day is admirable on its choice of words and description of images.

      11. I would love to read your poems 🙂 If I can help in anyway, I would be glad to.
        Yeah, there are a lot of things that people don’t appreciate. Poems, art, literature all of those wonderful arts and people think they’re just hobbies. My brother thinks poetry is stupid, for example. And my whole family thinks that I’ll never get where I want to be and make a living off writing *Sigh*.
        I wrote Autumn Day when I was sitting alone outside last year when we were at a party.

      12. I can’t understand how some people who listen to songs (since songs have lyrics) underestimate poetry. Just because there’s no music in it is no reason to invalidate it.
        Well, man (or ma’am?). Keep writing and reading. Good Lord! It sounds like your parents don’t encourage you much on your writing career. I’m glad mine support me on that. If we show our texts to the wrong public they won’t be very enthused over them.
        On the other hand, you speak English. I don’t. Therefore, you are way luckier than me.
        I’m gonna show you some of my attempts at poems but please don’t destroy me if you dislike them. 😛

      13. (I am a girl 🙂 ) Yeah, but my grandmother does and even if they didn’t, I don’t really care because I’ll keep doing it, anyway.
        I’m glad that you’re lucky enough to have that kind of support, it really helps when you have that.
        And I would never destroy someone if they honestly tried their best with their work 🙂 !

      14. I admire your perseverance. Perseverance is one of the steps to success. Besides, let’s say today you (it’s just an example) don’t write good stuff. That doesn’t mean that you can’t improve by practicing. Right? Some people write for recognition, they want other people to admire them; some write for money; some write for fun; some write to express some inner feelings (instead of telling all your issues to a psychologist they put it on paper).
        I’m gonna show you some text soon. I’m interested in your criticism.
        You speak many languages? I admire multiple-language writers.

      15. Honestly, I started writing when I was six and it was for money and fame. I know, I know, I was a terrible person.
        But after I was done with my story (Two page remake of the princess and the frog), I started to admire writers and I began writing every single day.
        I’ve always been called stubborn and independent 😛 (I say it’s a good thing, other people… not so much).
        I am starting to learn Japanese and I have a whole list of other languages I want to learn 🙂
        I can’t wait to read your stuff. And I’ll be posting an experimental poem on my blog soon (Using my name for this one) and I’d appreciate some feedback on that, too, if you can.

      16. Great. What about following each other? 😛 My blog is mainly about an Irish essayist who spoke IRISH and talked a lot about poetry and I’m also posting rare poets that have not been published in book form. Well, that’s up to you. I”m still gonna share my “poems” with you and give you feedback on yours, if you wish. Thanks.

      17. Sure, I’d love too 😀
        Do you want to trade poems privately or by our blogs? I’m fine either way.

      18. Could be both. Sometimes I forget to open the blog. Let’s do it. 🙂

      19. Sure, I think for the raw ones we should go by email 🙂
        Oh, and I posted another poem! It’s called: The Faerie Queen

      20. Wow! When did you write The Faerie Queen? Very accomplished!

  2. Thank you 🙂 Actually, I wrote The Faerie Queen a few months ago (Took me three hours) and it was just this idea I got in my head that was like: ‘Hey, why don’t I try and tell a story with poetry?’
    And I really loved the result 🙂 I’m really happy you like it, it means a lot coming from someone who knows what they are talking about in poetry.

    1. No problem. I have one by me but I dare not post it here. Should I email it? If so, where? Thanks. “The Faerie Queen” was very admirable. I’ve attempted to write poetry stories too.

      1. Thanks 🙂 And it’s no problem, I get how hard it can be to show your work, especially in public.
        my email is: taletwister@charter.net

      2. OK. Thanks. I’m sending you a poem as IVO. Ok?

      3. Sorry, I don’t know what IVO is *Looks around sheepishly*

      4. Me. I’ll put “A chat with a friend” in the subject.

      5. Oh, that’s fine 🙂 I have to clean out my inbox, thanks to wordpress, anyways, so I’ll see it.

      6. Thanks. “Poem” Sent.

      7. Okay 🙂 I’ll reply as soon as I can.

Leave a Reply

